Home Archived April 13, 2016
(i)

U.S. Geological Survey

Maps, Imagery, and Publications Hazards Newsroom Education Jobs Partnerships Library About USGS Social Media

USGS Newsroom

USGS Newsroom  
 

Media Advisory: Colorado and Virginia Earthquake Press Conference
Released: 8/23/2011 6:32:28 PM

Contact Information:
U.S. Department of the Interior, U.S. Geological Survey
Office of Communications and Publishing
12201 Sunrise Valley Dr, MS 119
Reston, VA 20192
Heidi Koontz 1-click interview
Phone: 720-320-1246

Jennifer LaVista 1-click interview
Phone: 720-480-7875

Marisa Lubeck 1-click interview
Phone: 720-891-3215



WHAT: U.S. Geological Survey seismologists answer questions about the magnitude 5.3 felt in and around Trinidad, Colo., and the magnitude 5.8 in Central Va. that was felt across the Eastern Seaboard today.

WHO: USGS seismologists from the USGS Earthquake Information Center in Golden, Colo.
Harley Benz, Scientist-in-Charge, USGS Earthquake Information Center
David Wald, USGS Geophysicist
Tony Crone, USGS Geophysicist

WHEN: 6:15 p.m. EST, 4:15 p.m. MDT and 3:15 p.m. PDT

WHERE: Reporters may call 1-800-988-9538 and use access code 4378298# to access the live teleconference.

The latest event information may be found online:

Citizens who felt the earthquake can go online and report their observations on the USGS Did You Feel It? website.


USGS provides science for a changing world. Visit USGS.gov, and follow us on Twitter @USGS and our other social media channels.
Subscribe to our news releases via e-mail, RSS or Twitter.

Links and contacts within this release are valid at the time of publication.

###


 

Accessibility FOIA Privacy Policies and Notices

USA.gov logo U.S. Department of the Interior | U.S. Geological Survey
URL: http://www.usgs.gov/newsroom/article.asp?ID=2897
Page Contact Information: Ask USGS
Page Last Modified: 8/24/2011 11:31:29 AM